Dear Ms. Stokes, Ms. Klenke, & Ms. Hudspeth

I was a teacher. And even though I no longer stand in a classroom from August until May, I am still a teacher. It’s in my bones. It’s my gift that God has blessed me with. I know this to be true.

I know it is your gift as well. Otherwise, you wouldn’t have chosen this career. It’s a tough job. A thankless job, most days. A job that most people do not fully comprehend the amount of dedication needed.

I want you to know that I have prayed for you and know that God has placed my child in your class for a specific purpose. I am so excited to see that purpose revealed. Because I am not utilizing my gift of teaching this year, I am writing to tell you that I want to foster your gift. I want to bless you as you bless my child. I need to be used in this way. I am asking you to let me know how I can serve you this year.

But I do need to warn you. I am a bit overzealous when it comes to education. I have strong opinions about our educational system and even stronger opinions about motivating and inspiring children. So, during those moments, when I get carried away, or too emotional, just know that it comes from my profound admiration of what I believe to be the best profession, teaching.

My hope and prayer for you as you begin this new year is that you are there for your students to help, to motivate, to explain, to model, to coach, to encourage, to communicate, to develop, to guide, to stimulate, to share, to inspire, and to nurture. I pray also that you will be bold, be strong, be adventurous, be humorous, be creative, be different, be courageous, be energetic, be enthusiastic, be dynamic, be proud, be empathetic, be a leader.  That’s a lot! But I know, that because God has blessed you with the gift of teaching, you have all that within you. Thank you in advance.

One other thing you might want to know about me, is that I’m a bit of a fighter. But rest assured that I’ll always fight for what best benefits children, as I know you will too. Our innate desire to be heard and understood drives our passion to help our students reach their fullest potential, right? I’ll be your biggest advocate. Below is a clip of why I am a fighter. It’s because of people like you. You may have seen it. In fact, most teachers have probably seen it. But I invite you to take another look at it. Let it simmer in your thoughts and fire you up! Let it motivate you to teach your heart out with as much passion and gusto as is within you. Go boldly into this new year, knowing your gifts and knowing you are prayed for and knowing YOU MAKE A DIFFERENCE! 

Sincerely,

Amy DuBose

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fuBmSbiVXo0

One thought on “Dear Ms. Stokes, Ms. Klenke, & Ms. Hudspeth

Leave a Reply

