I Will Not Be Moved!

proverbs31“Strength and honor are her clothing. She shall rejoice in time to come” Proverbs 31:25  “Charm is deceitful and beauty is passing, But a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised.” Proverbs 31:30

My daily devotional today is sought out intentionally. Many mornings (not all), I simply open the Bible to let God speak to me. Today I needed to be spoken to about specifics.

Anyone who knows me, knows how much I value literature. I love both prose and poetry. Words have a way of making you think… making you reach within and see things from a new perspective. The book I cherish most, but do not turn to nearly enough, is The Word. As a Christian, and as a woman who draws so much inspiration and encouragement from literature, how can I not revere this Book? The greatest story ever told is at my fingertips daily and I disregard it.

I have found myself, throughout my journey in life, holding certain women on a pedestal. There are so many qualities in so many women that I aspire to have. I fall into that category of women who self analyze, self critique, self loathe often. I tend to withdraw from social arenas simply because of my view of self. Comparison is a dangerous tool that Satan uses to inhabit my thoughts, actions, and responses. Just as God knows us, Satan does as well. He knows exactly where to push.

Recently, Satan has been at war with my soul. In fact, before this morning, I bet he thought he had won. I read the story of the “Virtuous Wife” this morning… the woman of Proverbs. Although this woman seems ideal, and would normally be one of those women I compare myself to and find myself clothed in unworthiness, today I see her differently.

I don’t have to be the best at everything. I can’t be perfect. I will not always say or do the right thing. But I can still come to the feet of the Father to worship and praise. I am unworthy, but He calls me worthy. I am imperfect, but am the child of the perfect one. Thank God for that!

For today, I will remove Satan’s hold over my thoughts and remember that I am made in the image of my heavenly Father. For today, I will not be moved!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTeQdLKiRg8

2 thoughts on “I Will Not Be Moved!

Leave a Reply

