Find Your Passion. Discover Your Purpose.

Politics and Religion. I’ve heard you shouldn’t talk about those things if you want to keep friends. It’s a wonder I have any left.

There are always a million things going on in my mind at once. And 99% of my time is spent pondering thoughts I want to write about. Writing, for me, is such a release. A release of tensions…of stress…of joys… of sorrows. I write to release these things and in the midst of that release I often pray that my words will catch someone off guard and encourage sharing. The sharing of emotions is what I treasure most.

images

We were made to be courageous is a concept that I think about a lot. There are so many times when I share my thoughts and then immediately think, “Maybe that wasn’t worth sharing…Maybe I’ll offend someone…Maybe someone wont like me after reading that.” But then I remind myself that we were made to be courageous. I am an idealist in every sense of the word. I believe that people can make a difference in this world and I want to be a difference maker. I want to be used by the Holy Spirit to help, comfort, uplift, encourage, inform, or motivate someone. It is why I became a teacher. It is why I am so unabashedly passionate in my pursuits. We are all missionaries. We all have a mission. Whether we are in Christ or not, we all have a mission. You can look on Facebook any day at any time and see what people are passionate about. Facebook has become a mission field. Whether we are in pursuit to convince people to take better care of their skin, or add more exercise to their lives, or follow a certain political candidate, or trust in the power of prayer, or go read a book, or believe that a certain profession is the best, or that some particular group should be banned or boycotted, etc. etc. etc. The list is long and the pursuits are heavy. I am one of those pursuers. I can’t help myself. I get why there are so many bloggers. I get why so many people are posting  photos of miraculous before and after transformations. I get why people are boycotting businesses. I get why people get on their soapboxes.  I get why there are a million articles on Facebook everyday being shared and liked thousands of times. All of those pursuers have one thing in common. They We believe that their our mission is worth fighting for..that someone can benefit from it…that there is something magical or special or emotional or awe inspiring that others would benefit from. I get it. We boldly post our passions! We were made to be courageous. But we were also made to be together, to love one another, to encourage one another, to share in each others’ burdens and joys. And again for those reasons, we post, we blog, we photograph… It’s modern day evangelizing 🙂

So all of you who are passionate in your pursuits, carry on my friends. I appreciate your passion. It is contagious. I also appreciate  when those passions are shared and discussed and pondered and stirred. Inspire me. Be inspired by others.

I look for inspiration and encouragement daily. Whether it comes from a book or interaction with a friend or even from Facebook. It stirs something in me when I see or hear or feel beauty through words on a page, or a smile from a friend, or a picture on Facebook. Seek out the beauty. Find your mission. Encourage others. Share in sorrows and in joys. Be someone’s inspiration.

This is my challenge today: Think about this…When people think about you, what is it that they can say you are passionate about? Where is your mission field? What are your pursuits?

And this is my prayer today: …that in those pursuits and on those mission fields, we are completely immersed in the ultimate reason for our passions. …that we would see and feel the love of Christ in us so that we can release that to others. …that we would remember that there is a purposeful life meant to be lived in a way that honors the Maker. This prayer is for me. It is for my friends who know a Savior. It is for my friends who do not. It is for my church leaders. It is for my children’s teachers. It is for my husband. It is for my children. It is for my nation’s leaders. It is for the world’s leaders. Nothing is too big for God. Dream big…Pray big…Do big!

Love you all!

1 Corinthians 12:12 For just as the body is one and has many members, and all the members of the body, though many, are one body, so it is with Christ.

Galatians 6:2 Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.

Hebrews 10:24-25 And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another.

2 Corinthians 3:12 Since we have such a hope, we are very bold.

Acts 28:31 Proclaiming the kingdom of God and teaching about the Lord Jesus Christ with all boldness and without hindrance.

Ephesians 3:12In whom we have boldness and access with confidence through our faith in him.

Proverbs 28:1 The wicked flee when no one pursues, but the righteous are bold as a lion.

Acts 4:31And when they had prayed, the place in which they were gathered together was shaken, and they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and continued to speak the word of God with boldness.

Acts 4:29And now, Lord, look upon their threats and grant to your servants to continue to speak your word with all boldness,

Acts 4:13Now when they saw the boldness of Peter and John, and perceived that they were uneducated, common men, they were astonished. And they recognized that they had been with Jesus.

2 Timothy 1:6-7 For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands, for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.

Ephesians 6:19And also for me, that words may be given to me in opening my mouth boldly to proclaim the mystery of the gospel,

Philemon 1:8 Accordingly, though I am bold enough in Christ to command you to do what is required,

Romans 12:1-2I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

Hebrews 13:6 So we can confidently say, “The Lord is my helper; I will not fear; what can man do to me?”

Hebrews 10:19-25Therefore, brothers, since we have confidence to enter the holy places by the blood of Jesus, by the new and living way that he opened for us through the curtain, that is, through his flesh, and since we have a great priest over the house of God, let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, with our hearts sprinkled clean from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water. Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful.

Hebrews 4:16 Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

2 thoughts on “Find Your Passion. Discover Your Purpose.

  1. Amy, I love your writings on finding your passion and discovering your purpose in life . You are a gifted writer. Love the scriptures that you posted along with your blog !!!!

Leave a Reply

