Homeschool: Week 1

10626478_10152352545830852_7051912149332193162_n

Jacob and his mom, Olga, picking up a copy of the book we are reading together! Book Club for two.

“The heart of human excellence often begins to beat when you discover a pursuit that absorbs you, frees you, challenges you, and gives you a sense of meaning, joy and passion.” My students always become like family to me… I get caught calling them my kids and on more than one occasion I’ve overheard a couple of them call me mom. Where I am lacking in numbers for a group discussion, Jacob has shown in just two days that he will pull the extra weight. I have spent two days with this young man who is not shy about expressing his opinions and view points. I say to him, “Let’s talk about the personal narrative.” He replies, “Well, can I write a personal narrative in poetry form?” I told him I loved that idea. He recalled a past time in school where he wanted to do just that but was discouraged. That is the difference in having to meet state standards and having to teach a child according to their needs and passions. Let the journey begin.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Homeschool: Week 1

  1. Amy,These children are blessed to have you as their homeschool teacher.I am sure you will also get a blessing from doing this.

  2. The blessing is always mine. I am not confident in life. But one thing I am assured on is that God has given me a gift of teaching. And that gift has always brought so much joy because of what students and parents bring to my life. I couldn’t be more thrilled to be given another new opportunity to teach and to grow. Again, the blessings are mine.

Leave a Reply

